TICKETS | DONATE | LISTEN | 612-722-2301

Devotion: Singing Gatha

As our singers gather for their first rehearsal since April, alto section member Jenny Kelley shares a devotion about mindfulness.
I read a wonderful story about an ordained Buddhist dharma teacher, Cheri Maples, who served in criminal justice for 25 years. She attended a mindfulness retreat in 1991, which she applied to her work as a police officer, policing with more compassion and openness. Cheri went on to lead mindfulness retreats for others in law enforcement and others in high-stress work. One technique of mindfulness that Cheri and other dharma teachers is to use a Gatha before any activity.

Announcing our 2016-17 season!

Choir increases performances throughout Minnesota and collaborates with the St. John’s Boys’ Choir
MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, June 28, 2016 – The 64-voice National Lutheran Choir (NLC) – - is pleased to announce its 31st concert season, beginning November 2016 through April 2017. This year’s schedule includes the choir’s cherished All Saints program (to be performed in Edina, St. Cloud, and Mahtomedi); the sacred Christmas Festival concerts in Minneapolis and St. Louis; a Choral TuneUp workshop with Dr. Lee Nelson, Director of the Wartburg College Choir; a joint concert with St. John’s Boys’ Choir; and a historical program of early Lutheran music, which will tour to Duluth and Moorhead and conclude in Minneapolis. 

National Lutheran Choir Hymn Festival - 2016 ELCA Churchwide Assembly

Sunday, August 7, 2016 - 8:00pm

This summer, the National Lutheran Choir has been invited to New Orleans as part of the ELCAChurchwide Assembly. 

The choir will present a Hymn Festival on Sunday, August 7, the eve of the Assembly, at Christ Church Cathedral in New Orleans. The Hymn Festival will begin at 8pm and is open to the public. The choir will also participate in the Opening Worship Service on Monday, August 8.  The worship service is an official event of the assembly open to voting members only. 

National Lutheran Choir Announces Reformation Commission

Major work commissioned from Norwegian composer, Kim André Arnesen
MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 1, 2016 – The National Lutheran Choir (NLC) – - announces the commission of a major choral-instrumental work, “Holy Spirit Mass,” to receive its world premiere in October 2017. Norwegian composer Kim André Arnesen has been commissioned to write this significant new work in commemoration of the 500th Anniversary of the Protestant Reformation.
The new work, titled “Holy Spirit Mass,” will be scored for SATB chorus and 16 instruments and will have an anticipated duration of 35-45 minutes.

Expanded Role for Adam Reinwald

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, June 17, 2016 – The National Lutheran Choir (NLC) – -  announces the creation of a new position, Community Engagement Manager. The role will be filled by Adam Reinwald, currently the NLC’s assistant conductor and former member of Cantus.

Subscribe to